Email Us
Call Us
+27 12 369 8000


Members Assembly 2023

Read More
Play Video

Welcome To SALGA NMA 2023

The SALGA National Members Assembly (NMA) is the highest SALGA decision-making structure in between National Conferences and will, among others discuss and debate, the plan of action for the sector, and most importantly, adopt positions on local governance systems, policies and legislative matters that have a direct impact on the current state and the future of local government.










14:00 - 20:00

Day One
Registration, Credentials & Confirmations

18:00 – 21:00

Day one
Welcoming Reception and Launch of Exhibitions

08:30 – 09:00

Arrival and Registration
Delegates and Guests

08:30 – 09:00

Official Opening and Welcome and Rendition of the National Anthem
Programme Directors

09:00 – 09:10

Cllr. Sivuyile Ngodwana
Welcome Remarks by Host - Executive Mayor of Ekurhuleni Metro

09:10 – 09:20

Hon. Panyaza Lesufi
Premier’s Welcome Remarks - Premier of Gauteng

09:20 - 09:40

Cllr Bheke Stofile
Official Opening Address - SALGA President

09:40 – 10:00

Hon. T Nkadimeng
Ministerial Address - Minister for Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs

10:00 – 10:40

His Excellency. Hon. Cyril Ramaphosa
Keynote Address - President of the Republic of South Africa

14:00 – 15:00

All Delegates
Strategic Collaboration: Messages of Support - Traditional Leadership Organised Labour International Strategic Partners

15:00 – 17:30

All Delegates
6 Parallel Commissions

08:00 – 08:30

Delegates and Guests
Arrival and Registration

08:30 – 08:40

Cllr X Limberg - SALGA Deputy President
Accreditation and Credentials

08:40 – 08:45

Programme Director
Adoption of the Agenda

08:45 – 09:10

Cllr Bheke Stofile - SALGA President
SALGA Organisational Report

09:10 - 09:30

Mr Lance Joel - SALGA Chief of Operations
Adoption of the SALGA Annual Report and Annual Financial Performance 2022/23 and SALGA Annual Performance Plan 2023/24

09:30 – 10:30

Municipal Delegates



Hon. Panyaza Lesufi

Premier of Gauteng

Hon. T Nkadimeng

Minister for Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs

Cllr Bheke Stofile

SALGA President


"25 Years since the advent of the 1998 White Paper on Local Government: Are we on course and driven in Building a Sustainable, Responsive & People Central Local Government?

Press Here


South African Local Government Association is an autonomous association of all 257 South African local governments, comprising of a national association, with one national office and nine provincial offices. Membership of the association is voluntary. SALGA accounts to its members in terms of the SALGA Constitution (as amended in 2016) and it’s Governance Framework regulating its structures and mandating processes.

Get In Touch

175 Corobay Avenue, Cnr Garsfontein and Corobay, PTA

+27 12 369 8000