Office Hours Mon-Fri: 08:00-16:30 | Call Center +27 12 369 8000
Home | Contact Us

ABOUT US: Provincial Overviews - Kwazulu Natal


Social Media

Follow Us on Social Media

Upcoming Events

Salga Provincial Conferences 2016

For Delegates and Exhibitors registration forms please click on respective province and links below:

Free State
Northern Cape

For more information please click here



Municipal Human Capital Support Registration

Please click below to register and acces SALGA Municipal Human Capital Support Documents.




SALGA KZN is a provincial structure of the South African Local Government Association ( SALGA) based in Kwazulu Natal province. The office is the voice of local government, lobbing and advocating on behalf of the 61 municipalities based in the province. Its existence is anchored on Section 163 of the RSA Constitution and the Organized Local Government Act of 1997.

The Provincial Executive Officer together with management in KZN, lead the administration of the SALGA KZN office with the Provincial Executive Committee providing political leadership. The ultimate authority of the SALGA KZN province resides in its annual Provincial Members Assembly (PMA), which takes place before the National Members Assembly (NMA).

Kwazulu Natal is the biggest province in South Africa, with the highest membership municipalities for SALGA. It has 61 municipalities in total this included 10 district municipalities and 1 Metro.
The province itself is the biggest province in South Africa. It is associated with many cultural, natural and historic icons including its famous beaches and surf, Big 5 game reserves and lofty Drakensberg Mountains, its mighty Zulu heritage, colorful Indian culture and great sporting events.

The SALGA KZN Provincial office is situated in the Durban CBD (202 Anton Lembede Street, Durban).


It is the Second biggest sporting event of this nature in the country, after the SA games. Its main aim is to promote social cohesion through sport and improve the life’s of the youth in the communities. The Games started over 14 years ago with 2 codes of sport, and have grown unbelievably over the years. Today the SALGA KZN games have 15 codes in total, with over 4000 participants.


Metropolitan municipalities

  • eThekwini Municipality

Districts Municipalities

  • Amajuba District Municipality
  • Ilembe District Municipality
  • Sisonke District Municipality
  • Ugu District Municipality
  • uMkhanyakude District Municipality
  • uMgungundlovu District Municipality
  • uMzinyathi District Municipality
  • Uthukela District Municipality
  • Uthungulu District Municipality
  • Zululand District Municipality

Local Municipalities

  • AbaQulusi Municipality
  • Big 5 False Bay Municipality
  • Dannhauser Municipality
  • eDumbe Municipality
  • Emadlangeni Municipality
  • Emnambithi / Ladysmith Municipality
  • Endumeni Municipality
  • Ezinqoleni Municipality
  • Greater Kokstad Municipality
  • Hibiscus Coast Municipality
  • Hlabisa Municipality
  • Imbabazane Local Municipality
  • Impendle Municipality
  • Indaka Municipality
  • Ingwe Local Municipality
  • Jozini Municipality
  • Kwa Sani Municipality
  • KwaDukuza Municipality
  • Mandeni Municipality
  • Maphumulo Municipality
  • Mbonambi Municipality
  • Mkhambathini Municipality
  • Mpofana Municipality
  • Msinga Municipality
  • Msunduzi Municipality
  • Mthonjaneni Municipality
  • Mtubatuba Municipality
  • Ndwedwe Local Municipality
  • Newcastle Municipality
  • Nkandla Municipality
  • Nongoma Local Municipality
  • Nquthu Municipality
  • Ntambanana Municipality
  • Okhahlamba Local Municipality
  • Richmond Municipality
  • Ubuhlebezwe Municipality
  • Ulundi Municipality
  • Umdoni Municipality
  • Umhlabuyalingana Municipality
  • uMhlathuze Local Municipality
  • uMlalazi Municipality
  • uMngeni Municipality
  • uMshwathi Municipality
  • Umtshezi Municipality
  • Umuziwabantu Municipality
  • Umvoti Municipality
  • Umzimkulu Municipality
  • Umzumbe Municipality
  • uPhongolo Municipality
  • Vulamehlo Municipality

Site Map:

Welcome to SALGA
Our Constitution
Governance Framework
Our Structure
Executive Management Team
National Executive Committee
Provincial Executive Committee
National Working Groups
Provincial Working Groups
Provincial Overviews

Media Room
Press Releases
Media Statements
Image Gallery
SALGA Media Enquiries


Municipal Focus
About Municipalities
Guidelines for Municipalities
Municipal Audit Outcomes
Municipal Finance
Municipal Planning
Treasury Reports
Municipal Contact Details

Documents and Publications
Annual Reports
Annual Performance Plans
Strategic Plans
Corporate Presentation
Voice Magazine
National Members Assembly
National Municipal Managers Forum


Knowledge Hub
Energy Efficiency & Renewable Energy
SALGA Lexis Nexis Legal Content
Good Governance Learning Network
Learning Framework for Local Government
Local Government Briefs
Knowledge Hub Documents
Knowlede Hub Publications
Knowledge Portals

Stakeholder Relations
Stakeholder Management Framework
Stakeholder Management Directory



Suppliers & Vendors
Tender Notices
Terms of Reference for Tenders
Responsive Bidders to Tenders
Results to Bids
Central Supplier Database
Standard Bid Documents
Evaluation Criteria for Procurement
Government Procurement Conditions of Contract
Request for Proposals

SALGA Offices

Copyright © 2017
Legal Notice Disclaimer


Social Media